IMSP Prime29



The Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Physics (IMSP), a degree-granting unit under the College of Arts and Sciences, was one of six National Centers of Excellence in the Basic Sciences that were established on March 23, 1983 by Presidential Decree No. 1416 through Executive Order No. 889. The system of NCOE’s was created to help advance science and technology in the country, and specifically, to strengthen and broaden the national capability to train scientific leaders and conduct research in the basic sciences.

The organization of the Institute was approved by the Board of Regents in its 958th meeting held on February 24, 1983. Three units - the Department of Mathematics and Physics, the Department of Statistics and Statistical Laboratory (both under the College of Arts and Sciences) and the Computer Service Unit (under the Office of the Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs) – formed the nucleus of the Institute.

In 1995, the Division of Computer Science and Computer Science Laboratory was elevated as an institute, the Institute of Computer Science, and in 1998, the Division of Statistics and Statistical Laboratory became the Institute of Statistics. At present, IMSP has two divisions - the Mathematics Division and the Physics Division.

For demonstrating the highest standards in instruction, research and extension, IMSP in 1998 was designated by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) as a Center of Excellence (COE) in Mathematics Education and as a Center of Development (COD) for Excellence in Physics Education. IMSP’s role as a COE/COD is to provide institutional leadership in all aspects of development in specific areas of discipline and help ensure the accelerated development of higher education institutions in the region. In 2006, the Institute was again recognized by CHED as a Center of Excellence in Mathematics.

Last Updated on Sunday, 08 October 2017 14:47

Free business joomla templates